Cartoon Dolls Community  - Doll forums and doll maker discussion boards

Cartoon Dolls Community - Doll forums and doll maker discussion boards (http://www.thedollpalace.com/forum/)
-   Hand Drawn (http://www.thedollpalace.com/forum/hand-drawn/)
-   -   My *first* handdrawns (http://www.thedollpalace.com/forum/hand-drawn/22134-my-first-handdrawns.html)

Andjelija 02-25-2010 04:20 PM

My *first* handdrawns

I gave a try at doing hand-drawns, so: here's my *first* attempt, i couldn't find a good hair tutorial, so the hair isn't good... The shoes are shaded, but, they're kind'a small, so you can't see it very well. Tell me what you think.
The link to the base

belladoggy 02-25-2010 05:35 PM

Well, I'm pretty new at it myself, but Miranda showed me this tutorial: Full Doll Tutorial

which seemed to help, also I found this one very helpful with explaining hair: P i x ** P a r a d i s e **** , combing the two techniques seems to be working for me

Andjelija 02-25-2010 06:55 PM

Thanks. That really helped. And here's another one:

Base:Deac loves you

KiraIMustBeInvisible 02-25-2010 08:54 PM

The pants and shirt look a little pillowy, but it's hard to avoid that on a small base such as that one. The hair is good, but it's hard to tell if there's any shading @~@ That may be just because it's so small >.< Also, with the strands you want to try and keep it going at a fairly even curved line(if that makes sense o.O). Like, no jagged edges or anything. The easiest way to do this is with a curve tool(at least, if you using MS paint) if you're using a different program (i.e photoshop, gimp, ect) then you just have to try your best to keep it even.

Andjelija 02-28-2010 04:24 PM

I made a new doll, and here it is, so tell me what you think.

Base: Mariiii's doll house

Edit: Here's another one i made, it's a TDP base, and i really like the way it turned out, but i don"t like the hair though.