Add to Favorites  
    


Cartoon Dolls Community  - Doll forums and doll maker discussion boards Cartoon Dolls Community  - Doll forums and doll maker discussion boards Visit The Doll Palace - Where Cartoon Dolls Live

Coding Sripts and codes: HTML, PHP, Javascript, etc. Scripts and other tricks for webmasters and people that like making websites.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Ninique's Avatar
Ninique (Offline)
Junior Member
Bonita
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Zodiac Sign: Cancer
Rating: Not Rated
Default Ninique's Dollmaker Script - 08-13-2010, 09:20 PM

I've recently been dabbling into web coding and have created my own dollmaker script. I wanted to make one that was different from what is out there right now. My script uses tabs to separate all the different categories of props, and there's also an option to change the skintone of the base body.

I wrote it entirely myself, using the jQuery UI library. It also uses PHP to make it super easy to add new props to it, but there's also an option to use it without PHP.

You can see a demo here. Or see more information and download it here.

Please tell me what you think about it!


~*~Ninique's Minidollz ~*~ My DeviantArt ~*~
Av by me (base by Citron Rouge)

Last edited by Ninique : 08-13-2010 at 09:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#2 (permalink))
Old
LancasterPrincess's Avatar
LancasterPrincess (Offline)
TDP Greeter
Hand Drawn
 
Posts: 1,344
Join Date: Apr 2007
Zodiac Sign: Virgo
Rating: 7 Votes / 4.86 Average
Default 08-13-2010, 11:41 PM

Very good! I'm interested to see what more you can do with it!

Two things though: The mouse tool is slightly off. When I moved the skirt around and let go of the button it would move slightly and be off center. The other thing, that would fix the first thing, would be to add keyboard arrow capability...or add some arrow buttons to use underneath the dolling area?

Some suggestions that are purely just fun/ease based would be to:
*Add the no-right click coding so that people can't steal the pieces so easily.
*Add some glittering capabilities? I've yet to see someone make that script available for download yet. That's something I would pay for, seriously.
*Add some color-changing capabilities. This way there aren't 7 of the same piece, just in a different color.

Other than those few off bits the coding you created is fabulous! I hope you learn to do more and share with the dolling community again!


Please have a look at my Shop!
Help a girl out, keep me in mind, and share link with your friends and parents!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Ninique's Avatar
Ninique (Offline)
Junior Member
Bonita
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Zodiac Sign: Cancer
Rating: Not Rated
Default 08-14-2010, 03:45 PM

I'm not sure what you're talking about in terms of the mouse tool. It seemed fine in my testing. What browser/kind of computer are you using?

Otherwise, thanks for the suggestions. I'll take them into account for the next version


~*~Ninique's Minidollz ~*~ My DeviantArt ~*~
Av by me (base by Citron Rouge)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#4 (permalink))
Old
LancasterPrincess's Avatar
LancasterPrincess (Offline)
TDP Greeter
Hand Drawn
 
Posts: 1,344
Join Date: Apr 2007
Zodiac Sign: Virgo
Rating: 7 Votes / 4.86 Average
Default 08-14-2010, 04:40 PM

When I go to build a doll I drag the items over using the mouse tool. You know, the arrow/cursor thing? When I put the items over the doll (all of the items btw, just checked again and it was not only the skirts doing it) they don't go where I put them. I have been dolling for years and know how to put a doll together correctly and how to allign the clothing to the base so please understand this is not a user-incompetance related problem. This is what it makes the clothes do when I let go of my mouse button:



Also, I just realized the double click feature isn't available on this, nor is a save button? I understand that what's meant to be done is pressing the Print Screen button on the keyboard and croping the image in Paint or other program, but more user-friendly coding has the Save feature. The double click feature will create a copy of the item clicked and automatically transfer it to the Build Area. That options also allows for creativity. For example someone has some versatile props that can be used creatively to create something else, like taking a crown and putting multiple copies of the crown across the waist to create a belt. This coding only allows single use, which limits creativity.

Another cool feature is the layers feature. Some dollmaking scripts only allow a doll to be created in the layer they have pre-determined. But if a user wants to be creative and take some hair and put it behind the doll and lower down to create longer hair they can't do that without an option to move an item Up or Down a layer.

I hope my advice and critiques are taken lightly and that they don't bother you. I know a bit of coding myself so I definately know the work that goes behind creating such things and I'm definately impressed by how much you've done on your own.

Oh and you asked about my browser? I use Internet Explorer7. I haven't had any issues with it on any dolling sites...ever. I only get issues whenever I try to upgrade the version, ESPECIALLY with TDP. I've tried downloading a second browser before (Firefox) but it and I.E. kept fighting a testosterone-filled Who's The Default Browser battle. So when I finally got tired of their bickering I deleted Firefox and just stuck with I.E.7 since I use TDP more than I use random sites that need higher versions.


Please have a look at my Shop!
Help a girl out, keep me in mind, and share link with your friends and parents!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Elanorea (Offline)
Senior Member
Forums Moderator
 
Posts: 1,318
Join Date: May 2004
Zodiac Sign: Cancer
Rating: 2 Votes / 5.00 Average
Send a message via MSN to Elanorea Send a message via Skype™ to Elanorea
Default 08-14-2010, 05:33 PM

This looks very neat . The mouse tool is working fine for me (using Firefox 3.6). Though I agree with LancasterPrincess that a double-click feature would be useful.

I'm gonna try if I can get the script to work on my site with my meagre HTML skills...

EDIT: Yup, it works . I'm probably gonna start using this for my dollmaker, it's much better than the script I have now.



Last edited by Elanorea : 08-14-2010 at 05:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
(#6 (permalink))
Old
Ninique's Avatar
Ninique (Offline)
Junior Member
Bonita
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Zodiac Sign: Cancer
Rating: Not Rated
Default 08-15-2010, 10:28 AM

Lancaster Princess, that's a really strange bug. I'll try to look into it.

BTW, I actually do have a "layers" feature. Which ever prop you clicked last goes to the top so if you want to put something on top, just drag it again and replace it. Right now props can't go behind the body, but I can change that

Saving is one of those things that I wanted to have since the beginning, but I just can't figure out how to do it in Javascript. Most scripts that I've seen with saving capabilities use some kind of server for compiling it, but I don't want that because I want the script to be independent from a server.


~*~Ninique's Minidollz ~*~ My DeviantArt ~*~
Av by me (base by Citron Rouge)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




© 2007 The Doll Palace