View Single Post
(#2 (permalink))
Sarah_K_O_M's Avatar
Sarah_K_O_M (Offline)
Senior Member
Hand Drawn
Posts: 79,866
Join Date: Feb 2005
Zodiac Sign: Cancer
Rating: 22 Votes / 3.59 Average
Default 02-29-2012, 09:07 PM


The Watches

The Watch system is based not only on power, but on probable threat. An individual werewolf or witch may be more powerful than a vampire, but they will still be in Greywatch because vampires are more threatening in general.

Not all supernaturals are in one of the Watches, but they are all monitored to some degree. There are also rogues, who go under the radar.

Daywatch - Class 1, Class 2
The administrative branch of the Watch, mainly comprised of Demon-Touched, particularly skilled humans or psychics. They are the support for the other Watches, on and off the field.
Uniform: White coat with 3 horizontal black, light or dark grey or silver stripes on the sleeves and matching epaulettes and ornamentation.

Greywatch - Class 3
The main defensive group, primarily composed of witches, sorcerers and theriantropes. In a crisis, it is Greywatch that secures the area and evacuates civilians.
Uniform: Light or dark grey coat with 3 horizontal black, white or silver stripes on the sleeves and matching epaulettes and ornamentation.

Nightwatch - Class 4
The primary offensive group, mainly made up of vampires, dhampirs or pact-bearers. Nightwatch is the group most often on the front lines, actively hunting down demons or rogue supernaturals.
Uniform: Black coat with 3 horizontal white, light or dark grey or gold stripes on the sleeves and matching epaulettes and ornamentation.


Vampires - Class 4
Vampires are undead creatures that keep themselves alive by regularly ingesting or absorbing liveforce, usually in the form of blood. There is a less common breed of vampire which feeds off of emotions. This allows vampires to appear to be truly alive and human, to eat, to walk in daylight, and even to procreate. The typical vampire requires the ingestion of 2-3 pints of blood up to three days apart, although some feed daily for increased benefits.

Typical vampiric powers include limited regeneration, superhuman strength and weak psychic ability. Because of this, they are the most regulated of the supernatural races, with strict population limits and spontaneous searches on suspicious individuals.

Vampires do not have to sleep, although they have the ability to do so. Most prefer to meditate as they find sleep eerily reminiscent of their 'death'.

Therianthropes - Class 3
Theriantropes, a blanket term for weres of all kinds, are the most integrated of the more dangerous supernaturals, partially due to the reliability of their powers.
They are almost always in perfect control of their shifting capabilities, except for three days around the full moon, during which they involuntarily shift and experience a berserker rage. While this can be dangerous, the regularity has made them very easy to handle.
All theriantropes are weak to silver and fire.

Dhamphirs - Class 4
Half human, half vampiric individuals. The vampiric qualities tend to surface around in teenagers 14 to 16, though many dhamphir in fact never manifest the vampiric aspect throughout their entire lives. These are known as 'passive' dhamphir.

Like their parents, Dhamphir require blood to use their vampiric talents, although lack of it is not fatal. They receive far fewer benefits from doing so and do not always have psychic ability. Many dhamphir simply drink blood as a quick pick-me-up, regarding it as too bothersome to drink regularly.

All 'active' dhamphir are automatically enlisted in the Watch when they show signs of their heritage. They are given training for four years, alongside normal schooling, before serving in the Watch for anywhere from 6 years to a decade of compulsory service.

Dhamphir only need to sleep every 12-16 days.

Pact-Bearers - Class 4
People who have made or inherited a deal with demons, Fey or similar creatures. Most pacts made are hereditary, and are often passed down from parent to child, forcing the pact on an unwilling soul. It is not uncommon for Pact-makers descendants to view this a curse. Pacts with anything other than demons are incredibly rare.

Demon-Touched - Class 2
Roughly 1 out of every 100 people attacked by demons survives the encounter. Out of those people, roughly 70% will later relapse and be destroyed or mutated by the demonic taint, 29% will recover, and 1% will become what is known as a Demon-Touched - Someone who has absorbed and mastered the taint. The Demon-Touched are completely human, but to demons and supernaturals, they will register as demons, and they are also highly resistant to most forms of demonic and supernatural manipulation, which is why they are often used as spies and commanders.

They heal slightly above the normal human rate, in that a wound that may take 5 days for a normal human instead takes 3 or 4. Uniquely, a Demon-Touched can heal any wound completely, leaving no trace of it's existence.

Wildcards - Class 4/5
Wildcards are a mix of two or more supernatural races. They are often powerful, dangerous and very erratic in behaviour. If a Wildcard cannot be contained or enlisted into the Watch, they are executed before they become a problem.

The City
Zion is a circular city, divided into 7 wedge-shaped sectors, each as big as a city in their own right. The sectors are built so that if one is overrun, it can be permanently sealed off from the rest of the city within 2 hours. The entire city is covered by a semi-transparent biodome. The sectors are named after seven lost cities, but unofficially are given the names of the Seven Heavenly Virtues.

Washington - Patience
Moscow - Charity
Venice - Temperence
Rio - Chastity
Delhi - Diligence
Sydney - Kindness
London - Humility

"Without heroes we are all plain people and don't know how far we can go."

-Bernard Malamud

Last edited by Sarah_K_O_M : 03-08-2012 at 06:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote