Add to Favorites  

The Doll Palace Home [Where Cartoon Dolls Live]

Zodiac 101 @ Girl-Doll Fashion Gossip

  Zodiac 101 (Doll Article)

(November 23, 2007 by JeZz Send DollMail )
dress up games
cartoon doll forums
avatar chat
cartoon dolls
stories for kids
More @ TDP
» Blogs
» Forums
Google Reader or Homepage
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Add to My AOL

The twelve signs of the Zodiac give us more than our daily horoscope. They are ancient terms used by the Greeks (and before them, the Babylonians) to describe the calendar. The ancient people charted the passing of time by the constellations appearing overhead, and made a calendar with certain time periods named for the constellation that was prominent during that time.

The Greeks were by no means alone in this kind of calendar. The ancient Chinese calendar used the same system, but with animals rather than names of constellations. The Egyptians used the same twelve divisions with different names, and even the Aztecs, an entire ocean away, developed a calendar with the same basic divisions. The names we use today were not actually given to the calendar until the second century, but the calendar had been in use much longer.

When a baby is born, she is born under a certain zodiac sign. These signs are divided into different elements (earth, wind, fire, and water) and are assigned certain qualities – cardinal, fixed, or mutable. These have to do with how a person’s birth date affects their personality. The twelve zodiac signs and basic descriptions of what a general personality of that sign might be include:

Aries the Ram (March 21 to April 20)

Aries is a fire sign, and those who are born under the sign are adventurous, and sometimes wild. They are definitely doers rather than talkers.

Taurus the Bull (April 21 to May 21)

Taurus is an earth sign, and those born a Taurus are very grounded and mellow. They seem to be very social, but can withdraw into their own world when they want. They are also very stubborn.

Gemini the Twins (May 22 to June 21)

Gemini is an air sign. Geminis are always seeking out new experiences and knowledge and can be more than a bit mischievous.

Cancer the Crab (June 22 to July 22)

Cancer is a water sign, and Cancers are hard to figure out. They can be sweet and loving one minute and mean and cutting the next.

Leo the Lion (July 23 to August 22)

Leo is a fire sign, and Leos are passionate. They are born lucky and when they commit, they are in it for the long haul.

Virgo the Virgin (August 23 to September 23)

Virgo is an earth sign, and Virgos tend to be focused and dedicated. They most often focus their energy helping others.

Libra the Scales (September 24 to October 23)

Libra is an air sign. Libras are wildly romantic and they are always seeking true love. When they find it, great! When they don’t….

Scorpio the Scorpion (October 24 to November 22)

Scorpio is a water sign. Those born under Scorpio are powerful, intense people. They are often considered wise beyond their years.

Sagittarius the Archer (November 23 to December 21)

Sagittarius is a fire sign. Individuals who are a Sagittarius are optimistic and ready to set off in pursuit of their dreams – no matter how far they have to go.

Capricorn the Goat (December 22 to January 20)

Capricorn is an earth sign. Capricorns are patient and willing to put in the work to make it to the top.

Aquarius the Water Bearer (January 21 to February 19)

Despite the name, Aquarius is an air sign. Those who are called Aquarius tend to be generous and eccentric. They march to a different beat, and make up that beat as they go along.

Pisces the Fish (February 20 to March 20)

Pisces is a water sign, and Pisces are talented people. Unfortunately, they are often trying to chase two dreams at once which can be complicated and tiresome.

Page 13 of 13 12345678910111213
Click to View Complete

Posted On: November 23, 2007
cool aryicke 1st 2 commewnt yaya me!
Page 13 of 13 12345678910111213
Please Sign-In to Post a Comment